Why have we not set the goals of financial freedom in college?

Emma Abbas
3 min readMar 18, 2023

--

I realized the concept only when I started to work…

When we study as students our dreams are about earning and spending money on things we want or desire to have. Be it, beautiful homes, cars, or vacations.

But as we move on in life and after achieving some bit of it, we get tired of working every day. I have not met even a single person who does not complain about his job.

But do we really want to retire?

Here I want to mention Mr. Money Moustache https://www.mrmoneymustache.com/ who is seen as a pioneer in publicizing financial freedom.

But the reality is, even after achieving financial freedom, people keep working.

So what is the point?

The point is, we, want to work every day, mostly everyone because it gives us a reason to wake up. The problem is freedom, we don’t get the freedom to choose what to work on and when. This is where financial freedom comes into the picture. And this realization is my opinion…

If I were to have a chunk of money, will I work?

The answer is yes, and the difference is I would work on what I find interesting, what I am passionate about. And not on what the industry wants or what the era is developing.

If Sachin Tendulkar was born 200 years ago, would he have been such a successful cricketer? If there was no cricket, there would not have been any cricketers. But, he would have been into some sports, if we assume his innate character or his unfair advantage had been the same.

Was I born, 50 years before would I have been a Software Engineer or content creator? No, but if it’s the same me, I would have been a detective and writer.

Therefore, financial freedom is not just freedom from work, is it the freedom to follow your passion, and do what you want irrespective of when and where are you born.

Coming back to the question of financial freedom as a goal in college…

When we are in college all we think of is a new life that would begin. The excitement of earning your first paycheck and spending the way you want.

But people slow down later in life because there come a lot of responsibilities, like kids, and family. And having a job with less to no flexibility in hours makes a person age faster, and develop health issues, psychological issues, and relationship problems.

The only way out is to find the exit from 9 to 5.

People don’t want the work to end. They just want control over their time.

Anyone who has achieved financial freedom and says that they are retiring may be in their 30s or 40s. Will they never work again?

They will, and sometimes harder.

Then the reason for work won’t be money, it will be passion and the purpose in life.

In the next article, I will cover how much money we need to retire.

Stay tuned ;)

Thanks for reading,

Emma

P.S. The Daily Sunshine will now be a weekly newsletter, what a paradox! :P

Until I am financially free :)

--

--